Author Topic: Hello everyone  (Read 1502 times)

Offline SaintLupulin

• Learning to grow figs in America's basement...
Hello everyone
« on: August 06, 2020, 09:03:07 AM »
Hello Southern Figs Forum.

I am new to figs and also new to growing anything down here in SW Florida. I came across this forum in my research of figs I wanted to attempt to grow. I am trying figs that others in similar areas have done well with and as I learn more want to try more fig types that would have been hard to start out with. If things go well I am looking forward to trading and giving folks cuttings or plants just like I have had fun doing with other plants I have grown. I think that's part of the fun is sharing something that brings you joy. My setup is basic with grow bags I make myself and soil mix that drains well but doesn't dry out before I can water after I get home from work. It is a balancing act down here as just last night we had 3+ inches of rain.

I am looking forward to learning more from those who have already been there and done that. I also hope to share my findings with the group for those of us that dont have to worry about short seasons but deal with very hot, humid and rainy climates. I included a picture of my very rudimentary setup. I hand water as I only have a few plants and it gives me the chance to check on them everyday.

Cheers!
WL: LSU Strawberry, Rosselino, Any Col De Dames, Azores Dark, Neruciollo D'elba, Iranian Candy, anything with cherry flavor or rain/mold resistant qualities.

Offline LouisianaMojo

• Administrator
Re: Hello everyone
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2020, 09:13:23 AM »
Hello and welcome to Southern figs forum we have a number people that are very educated and can help you reach your goals.